Homepage | Archives | Calendar of Events | Exploring Akron | Lawn & Garden | Pets | Death Notices | People & Places | Faith & Worship | Get email news alerts | About Us

Goodwill honors program champions, re-elects board members

4/10/2014 - West Side Leader
      permalink bookmark

By Staff Writer

Celebration of Champions honorees are shown, from left, Darren Lynn, Monica Schnitzler, Amy Johnson, Larry Grant, Douglas Dawson and Jennifer Seman.
SOUTH AKRON — Goodwill Industries Serving Summit, Portage, Medina, Ashland and Richland Counties re-elected board members and honored program champions during its Annual Meeting and Celebration of Champions event March 27.

The event, hosted by co-chairs Kim and Chas Schreckenberger, was attended by nearly 200 people, according to Goodwill officials.

“We were honored to chair this event that highlights the successes of its program participants,” said Kim and Chas Schreckenberger in a prepared statement. “For those with barriers to employment, the pride of receiving a paycheck can be elusive, and that is why Goodwill is focused on helping individuals prepare for, find and retain employment. We are proud of the accomplishments of all the honorees and wish them continued success.” 

Honorees included Douglas Dawson, Eric Edwards, Stacy Fuson, Larry Grant, Amy Johnson, Alec Lopano, Darren Lynn, Anthony Petak, Violet Ramunni, Cassandra Robertson, Monica Schnitzler, Jennifer Seman and Eva Stephenson.

Employer/Community Partner Honorees were Automated Packaging Systems Inc., Parsec Enterprises and Community Collaboration on Employment Expo in Richland, Crawford and Ashland Counties.

The following 2014-16 Board officers were elected: C. Allen Nichols, executive director, Akron Bar Association — elected chairman; Danielle Kimmell, CPA , partner, Bober Markey Fedorovich — elected first vice chair; Margaret  Jordan, J.D. M.S., marketing, SS&G Financial Services — elected second vice chair; Douglas Klein, CPA, EA, associate director, SS&G Financial Services — elected treasurer; and Kim Schreckenberger, assistant, Braun and Steidl Architects — elected secretary.

Re-elected directors are: Richard Bromley, retired, United Airlines; Joseph Doman Jr., UBS Financial; William Glaeser, retired, Northeastern Educational Television of Ohio Inc.; Alisa Moore, FirstMerit Bank, N.A.; Nichols; Victoria Prussak, CWPM, CWC, ACE, Well … Now LLC; George Sherwood, retired, B.F. Goodrich Corp.; Jill Hinig Skapin, Summit County Executive Russ Pry’s Office; and Jeff Stevenson, Campbell Construction.

Retiring directors include: Jeanine Black, Bober Markey Fedorovich; Kerry Macomber, city of Ravenna; Shelby Morgan, W3 Wealth Management LLC; and Barry Thoman, CPA, Meaden and Moore Ltd.

The 2014-15 honorary directors are: Becky Babcox (1951-2012), Babcox Publications; Parker Berry II, CIC, Seibert-Keck Insurance; James Bunnell, Austin Tape and Label; Edward Calame, retired, First National Bank; James Dannemiller, CPA, SS&G Financial Services; Susan Hanlon, Ph.D., The University of Akron; Dorothy Jackson, retired, city of Akron; John January, Mogen Real Estate Co.; Randy Katz, City Scrap and Salvage; Dan Marchetta Sr., retired, Marchetta Construction Co.; Jackie McDermott, Alcatel-Lucent University; Patrick McGrath, Catholic Social Services; James Merklin, CPA, CFE, Bober Markey Fedorovich; Cynthia Misheff, community volunteer leader, retired educator; Donald Misheff, retired, Ernst and Young; Morgan; Angela Neeley, MBA, White Hat Management; Patrick Oaks, Welty/Boldt Joint Venture; Charles Schreckenberger, Braun and Steidl Architects; Steven Shechter, Evans Insurance Agency Inc.; John Shulan, Shulan’s Fairlawn Jewelers; Raymond Stankard, retired, Loral Systems Group; Sarah Stem, Fifth Third Bank; Stephen Strayer, PNC Bank; Michael Sweeney, Brouse McDowell LPA; Barry Thoman, CPA, Meaden and Moore Ltd.; Larry Uhl, West Point Market; Russell Vernon, retired, West Point Market; Jerry Welty, retired, Welty Building Corp.; Mark Whitlam, J.C. Whitlam Manufacturing Co.; and Stephen Wilt, CAPTRUST Financial Advisors.

Event sponsors were: bronze — BCG and Co./BCG Systems, Bober Markey Fedorovich, Buzz and Patti Pelland, Eric and Nan McClenaghan, Fifth Third Bank, FirstMerit Bank, Kim and Chas Schreckenberger, Meaden and Moore, OMNOVA Solutions Foundation, Roetzel and Andress and White Hat Management; table — Akron Bar Association and Hattie Larlham; honoree sponsors — Aaron Berke, Alisa Moore, Gary Rickel, Geoff Belz, Gizelle Jones, Jennifer Bako, Skapin, Macomber, Kurt Lutz and Terry and Sharon Dalton; and media partner Rubber City Radio Group.

Board officers for Goodwill Industries Serving Summit, Portage, Medina, Ashland and Richland Counties are, shown from left, Danielle Kimmell, C. Allen Nichols, Margaret Jordan, Douglas Klein and Kim Schreckenberger.
Photos courtesy of Goodwill Industries Serving Summit, Portage, Medina, Ashland and Richland Counties

      permalink bookmark