Homepage | Archives | Calendar of Events | Exploring Akron | Death Notices | People & Places | Faith & Worship | Panther Telegram | Get email news alerts | About Us
Community News

Candidates file for September Primary

6/20/2013 - West Side Leader
      permalink bookmark

By Kathleen Collins

SUMMIT COUNTY — Voters in Summit County will see familiar names on the Sept. 10 Primary Election ballot.

The filing deadline for partisan elections in local cities was June 12. At presstime, the Summit County Board of Elections (BOE) still was in the process of certifying the candidates. For a complete list of candidates, visit www.summitcountyboe.com.

The following is a rundown of what will appear on the ballot in the West Side Leader coverage area.


With Akron’s 10 wards having been redrawn last year, residents in Ward 1 and 2 will vote for new representatives this fall.

According to city officials, the main objective of the redistricting plan was to better align ward boundaries to neighborhood boundaries and for city neighborhoods — such as Highland Square, Ellet and North Hill — to be represented by one Council member.

The new boundaries put most of Highland Square in a newly drawn Ward 1 that no longer includes North Hill and extends from Ascot Parkway to parts of The University of Akron area and Downtown Akron. The new lines forced current Ward 2 Councilman Bruce Kilby and Jim Hurley, the current Ward 1 Councilman, into a new Ward 2 that now includes North Hill and the Chapel Hill area. The new Ward 1 boundaries also result in a new Council member being elected to represent this ward next year.

Hurley, a Democrat, filed to run for the Ward 2 seat and is unopposed in the primary. He will face Republican Robert Frank DeVitis in the Nov. 5 General Election.

Five Democrats and one Republican filed for the Ward 1 seat. Voters will vote for one of the following Democrats in September: John Bryan, Robin Green, Derrick Hall, Chuck Heimbaugh and Rich Swirsky. The winner will face Republican Anthony Karam Jr. in November.

Kilby, a Democrat, filed for one of three at-large seats up for election this year. He will face incumbent Democrats Jeff Fusco, Linda Omobien and Michael Williams in the Democratic primary.

Four Republicans also filed to run for the three at-large seats up for election. The candidates — Karl Johnson, Christine Kormushoff, Charly Murphy and Linda Robinson — will face off in the Republican primary.

The three Democratic winners will face the three Republican winners in November.

In the Ward 3 and 4 races, the winner of the Democratic primary will win the seat since no Republicans filed.

In Ward 3, Democrat incumbent Margo Sommerville will face Democratic challengers Tony Brown and Nyere McGuire in the primary.

In Ward 4, Democrat incumbent Russel Neal Jr. will face Democratic challengers DeAndre Forney and Eugene Norris.

For the Ward 8 seat, Democrat incumbent Marilyn Keith is unopposed and will face challenger Republican Gary Hagen, also unopposed, in November.

To view a map of the wards, visit www.akroncitycouncil.org.

Barberton Municipal Court Clerk

Voters living in the Barberton Municipal Court’s jurisdiction will vote for Barberton Municipal Court clerk this September. The court serves the communities of Barberton, Clinton, Copley, Coventry, Green, New Franklin and Norton.

Incumbent Republican Diana Stevenson was appointed clerk January 2012. She will face Larry Ashbaugh in the Republican primary.

State Rep. Zack Milkovich (D-District 37) will face Jon Poda, a former at-large representative on Summit County Council, in the Democratic primary.

The winners of each primary will face each other in the November General Election.

Cuyahoga Falls

The two candidates on the ballot for Cuyahoga Falls mayor are unopposed in September.

Republican incumbent Don Robart will face Democrat Donald Walters, the current Ward 6 representative on Cuyahoga Falls City Council, in November.

For the two at-large seats up for election, all three candidates are unopposed in September. Republican incumbents Jeff Iula and Carol Ann Klinger will face Democratic challenger Michelle Baker in November.

For the Ward 8 seat, Republican incumbent Terry Mader is unopposed.


Candidates for offices in Norton, a former partisan city, also filed for the September primary. All of the candidates will face off in November. Per Norton’s charter, a primary for Norton City Council ward seats is held only if four or more people file to run.

For the Ward 1 seat, current Ward 1 Councilman Todd Bergstrom did not file to run. Rick Rodgers and Ted Weinsheimer will vie for the seat in November.

In Ward 2, incumbent Don Nicolard will face challengers Steven Fannin and Danny Grether.

In Ward 3, incumbent Bill Mowery will face Joe Kernan, a former Norton mayor and Council member, and Dennis Pierson.

In the Ward 4 race, incumbent John Conklin will face Paul Tousley.

      permalink bookmark