Homepage | Archives | Calendar of Events | Exploring Akron | Lawn & Garden | Pets | Death Notices | People & Places | Faith & Worship | Get email news alerts | About Us
Community News

Candidates file for September Primary

6/20/2013 - South Side Leader
      permalink bookmark

By Kathleen Collins

SUMMIT COUNTY — Voters in Summit County will see familiar names on the Sept. 10 Primary Election ballot.

The filing deadline for some races was June 12. At presstime, the Summit County Board of Elections (BOE) still was in the process of certifying the candidates. For a complete list of candidates, visit www.summitcountyboe.com.

The following is a rundown of what will appear on the ballot in the South Side News Leader coverage area.

Barberton Municipal Court Clerk

Voters living in the Barberton Municipal Court’s jurisdiction will vote for Barberton Municipal Court clerk this fall. The court serves the communities of Barberton, Clinton, Copley, Coventry, Green, New Franklin and Norton.

Incumbent Republican Diana Stevenson was appointed clerk January 2012 and will face Larry Ashbaugh in the Republican primary.

State Rep. Zack Milkovich (D-District 37) will face Jon Poda, a former at-large representative on Summit County Council, in the Democratic primary.

The winners of each primary will face each other in November.


Candidates for offices in Green, a former partisan city, also filed for the September primary. However, all of the candidates will face off in November. Per Green’s charter, a primary for Green City Council ward seats is held only if four or more people file to run.

In Ward 1, candidate James Ahlstrom is unopposed. Incumbent Jim Colopy could not run for re-election due to term limits.

For the Ward 2 seat, incumbent Dave France also is term-limited. Candidates Rick Jacobson, Greg Padrutt and Bob Young will face off in November.

For the Ward 3 seat, incumbent Ken Knodel will face challenger Matthew Williams in November.

In Ward 4, incumbent John Summerville is unopposed.

New Franklin

New Franklin Mayor Al Bollas is facing a challenge this November by Terry Harget, current Ward 2 Councilman, and Bob Lockhart to the seat he’s held since 2005.

Three at-large seats on New Franklin City Council also are up for election this November. Incumbents Judy Jones and Harry Gehm will face challengers Robin Aikey and Andrea Norris, former Barberton Municipal Court clerk and a former at-large representative on Summit County Council. Incumbent Joseph Parsons did not file to run.

Per New Franklin’s charter, a primary for mayor will be held only if four or more people file and a primary for Council at-large seats will be held if eight or more people file.

      permalink bookmark