Homepage | Archives | Calendar of Events | Exploring Akron | Death Notices | People & Places | Faith & Worship | Panther Telegram | Get email news alerts | About Us
Community News

Candidates file for General Election

8/15/2013 - South Side Leader
      permalink bookmark

By Kathleen Collins

SUMMIT COUNTY — The filing deadline for the Summit County Board of Elections (BOE) for candidates running for some nonpartisan races for the Nov. 5 General Election was Aug. 7.

The following is a rundown of candidates who filed, as well as issues that were filed, in the South Side News Leader coverage area. At presstime, the BOE was in the process of certifying the candidates. For more information, visit the BOE’s website at www.summitcountyboe.com.


Coventry Township

Two seats are up for election on the Coventry Township Board of Trustees this year. Incumbent Tom Seese will face Edward Diebold and Rod Willis.

Trustee Gary Zoldesy did not file for re-election. [See related story on Page 6.]

Springfield Township

In Springfield, incumbent Deborah Davis will face challengers Jess Danner Jr. and Joe DiLauro for the two seats up for election.

Longtime Trustee Robert Bruce Killian announced last month he would not seek re-election. Killian said his decision was made due to changes coming to the state retirement system. Killian served as a trustee from 1992 to 2007 and then as fiscal officer from 2008 to 2009. In 2009, he was elected to his current seat on the board.

Boards of education

  • Coventry Local Schools Board of Education: Incumbents David Andrews, Tom Thompson and Robert Wohlgamuth will face challengers Chris Davis, Raymond Rose Sr. and Charles Zittle for the three seats up for election this November.
  • Green Local Schools Board of Education: For the three seats up for election, incumbents Bob Campbell and Steven Foster will face challengers Sally Fanelly, Rick Miller and Katie Stoynoff.

Board member Lynn Wiggins did not file for re-election.

  • Norton City Schools Board of Education: Incumbent Cindy Webel will face challengers Matt Collier, Floyd Easterling Jr., Linda Kloetzer, Rob Knight and Jason Sams for the three seats up for election.

Board members Diane Farmer and Jim Bennett did not file for re-election.

  • Manchester Local Schools Board of Education: Incumbents Kelly Dolan and Richard Sponseller will face challengers Randy Hoppe and Paul Sharkey for the three seats up for election.

Board member Jay Hunter did not file for re-election.

  • Springfield Local Schools Board of Education: Three seats are up for election this November and all the candidates are unopposed. Board members who filed for re-election include Cindy Collins and Mary Lou Dodson. Former board member Glenn Wieland also filed.

Board member Neal Hess did not file for re-election.

  • Stark County Educational Service Center Board: Voters living in Green precinct 2-A (02) and New Franklin precincts 3-B (02), 4-A (03) and precinct 4-B (02) will vote for the three seats up for election this November. Incumbents Jim Holmes, Jack Sickafoose and Richard Wingerter will face challenger Howard Wernow.
  • Summit County Educational Service Center Board: Incumbents Alyce Simmons Altwies, Susan Lobalzo and Dow Wolfe III will face challengers Ashley Dusseau Carr, Timothy Gallagher and Patricia Weber for the three seats up for election.


The following issues will appear on the ballot:

  • a six-year, 2.95-mill renewal levy for the Summit County Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board;
  • a seven-year, 1.46-mill renewal levy for Metro Parks, Serving Summit County;
  • a seven-year, 0.8-mill renewal levy for the Akron Zoo;
  • a proposed 3.89-mill, 36-year bond issue for the Norton City School District to raise $22.8 million for the construction and renovation of district buildings;
  • a proposed ordinance by petition asking the following, “shall Green’s Codified Ordinance be amended to permit the abolishment of municipal utility districts created under Ohio Revised Code 6115.69; and further to permit strategic partnerships between utility districts existing under Section 6115.69 of the Revised Code and further allowing the creation of utility districts upon petition from property owners”;
  • a five-year, 1-mill renewal levy for Springfield for the purpose of general construction, reconstruction, resurfacing and repair of streets, roads and bridges; and
  • a five-year, 5.99-mill levy for the Manchester Local School District for the purpose of operating expenses.


Editor’s note: For more information on candidates running for Green City Council, New Franklin City Council and mayor, as well as Barberton Municipal Court clerk, see “Candidates file for September Primary” in the June 21, 2013, edition or visit our archives at www.akron.com.

      permalink bookmark