Homepage | Archives | Calendar of Events | Exploring Akron | Lawn & Garden | Death Notices | People & Places | The Green Report | Faith & Worship | Get email news alerts | About Us
Community News

Pipeline to be activated in New Franklin

12/26/2013 - South Side Leader
      permalink bookmark

By Maria Lindsay

Shown from left are New Franklin City Council at-large members Harry Gehm and Judy Jones and Mayor Al Bollas being sworn into office for their next terms beginning in January.
Photo: Maria Lindsay
NEW FRANKLIN — An old pipeline crossing through New Franklin will get new life as Sunoco officials prepare the 12-inch line for service beginning in mid-2014.

Christopher Koop, a Sunoco community relations representative, presented information to city officials at the Dec. 18 New Franklin City Council meeting on what the company is doing to prepare the line to become operational.

Koop said Sunoco purchased the pipeline, once owned by BP, about two years ago. He added the line has been inactive for the past 10 years and is buried 5 feet deep in the ground. The company is now working on it in anticipation of a service line that will run from Mogadore to Doylestown that will carry petroleum products.

“It is important to us for local governments to be aware of this,” said Koop. “We go to great lengths to make sure the integrity of the line is intact before activation.”

Koop told city officials that Sunoco is currently surveying the line, purchasing right-of-way easements in the Tiffin to Doylestown area and doing integrity and maintenance work involving some brush clearing 25 feet on either side of the line in preparation for hydrostatic testing in January or February. That test involves the use of water at 1.5 times the operating pressure, which is 800 to 1,000 PSI, and is used as a dry run before the line becomes operational, he said.

Koop said landowners already have been notified of the work, and some of it has begun in the area. He added the company will run safety training sessions with emergency responders at the county level before the line becomes operational.

Several city officials asked about safety precautions, and Koop responded company officials are working to ensure there will be no problems with the transmission line.

In other safety operations news, Mayor Al Bollas announced a CERT (Community Emergency Response Team) program training session will be offered March 1 and 6 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. in New Franklin.

According to the Federal Emergency Management Agency, which adopted the program created by the Los Angeles City Fire Department, CERT training educates people about disaster preparedness for hazards that may impact their area and trains them in basic disaster response skills such as fire safety, light search and rescue, team organization and disaster medical operations. Using the training learned in the classroom and during exercises, CERT members can assist others in their neighborhood or workplace following an event when professional responders are not immediately available to help.

Bollas said the only person who is currently CERT-certified in the southern Summit County area is New Franklin resident Robin Aikey.

For more information about the session, contact the city at 330-882-4324.

In other business, Council approved:

  • the adoption of temporary appropriations of almost $4.5 million for 2014, representing first quarter expenditures, with the actual appropriations budget to be adopted in March;
  • the transfer of funds and additional appropriations for 2013;
  • granting a one-time stipend of $500 to all full-time nonbargaining-unit employees, except for the police and fire chiefs and the deputy service director;
  • applications for two Fiscal Year 2013 Assistance to Firefighter Grants for five sets of diving equipment, mobile data terminals for cabs and 26 radios for the department;
  • then and now purchase orders of $44,368 to Green for a new traffic signal at South Main Street and West Nimisila Road and $29,000 to Barberton for prosecutorial services; and
  • the following appointments: Sue Wigington to the Civil Service Commission for an unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2014, replacing Matt Weber; Richard Lowry to a five-year term on the Planning and Zoning Commission ending Dec. 31, 2015, replacing Dan Bradshaw; Jason Zittle to a five-year term on the Parks Commission, ending Dec. 31, 2018; Douglas Rheaume to the unexpired seat on the Parks Commission, ending Dec. 31, 2015, replacing Bob Slocum; and Larry Rea to the Parks Commission for an alternate one-year seat.

Bollas announced residents are still needed to serve as an alternate member on the Planning and Zoning Commission and on the Tudor House Advisory Council.

He also said seven volunteers are needed to serve on the Charter Review Commission. Currently, John Perduyn, Aikey, Eric Roberts, Councilman Joe Parsons and Francis Kalapodis have indicated interest in serving. Council is expected to approve the final selection of commission members, who will review the city’s charter for needed amendments. Those amendments must be approved by voters in order for them to become part of the charter, according to charter rules and regulations.

Also at the meeting, Bollas presented out-going at-large Councilman Parsons with a plaque of appreciation for his service. Parsons did not seek re-election this past November.

In addition, Law Director Tom Musarra swore in at-large Council members Judy Jones and Harry Gehm, who were re-elected to their seats, as well as Bollas, who was re-elected as mayor. Newly elected at-large Council member Andrea Norris was sworn into office several weeks ago, according to Musarra.

Bollas also announced the winners of the Holiday Lights contest include the following addresses: 1107 and 1161 Tait Road; 690 and 700 Rawlins Ave.; 741 and 1980 Center Road; 6027 Grove Road; 1430 Vanderhoof Road; 5600 Manchester Road; 2386 W. Nimisila Road; 5054 Peggy Ann Drive; and 1506 Swigart Road.

Council will meet next Jan. 8 at City Hall, 5611 Manchester Road, beginning at 6 p.m. with the organizational meeting and followed by the committee and the regular meetings.

      permalink bookmark