Homepage | Archives | Calendar of Events | Exploring Akron | Death Notices | People & Places | Faith & Worship | Panther Telegram | Get email news alerts | About Us
Community News

Cuyahoga Falls Council selects president

1/9/2014 - West Side Leader
      permalink bookmark

By Emily Chesnic

At the Jan. 6 Cuyahoga Falls City Council organizational meeting, Councilwoman Mary Ellen Pyke (R-Ward 2) was elected president by the Republican-dominated Council.

Councilman Vincent Rubino (D-Ward 1) also was nominated for the position. Pyke received six votes and Rubino  received five, according to city officials.

The meeting began with Mayor Don Walters, a Democrat and newly elected, swearing in the City Council members whom also were elected or re-elected in the Nov. 5 General Election.

Council members Pyke, Rubino, Vic Pallotta (R-Ward 3), Bob Weinhardt (R-Ward 4), Paul Colavecchio (D-Ward 5), Gary DeRemer (D-Ward 6), Jerry James (D-Ward 7), Terry Mader (R-Ward 8), Carol Klinger (R-at large) and Jeff Iula (R-at large) all took the oath of office.

Walters also swore in the new Council Clerk Paul Janis, who served as the law director for the city under former Mayor Don Robart, Rubino said.

Additionally during the meeting, Iula was elected president pro tem, Pallotta was named sergeant of arms and Mader was selected to serve as chaplain, Rubino confirmed.

As approved by Council, as well, Klinger will serve as chair of the Finance Committee, Iula as chair of the Public Improvements Committee, Mader as chair of the Planning and Zoning Committee, Weinhardt as chair of the Community Development Committee and Pallotta as chair of the Public Affairs Committee, Rubino said.

Also during the meeting, members approved Walters’ cabinet appointments of Eric Czetli as service director, Russ Balthis as law director, Bryan Hoffman as finance director and Diane Sheridan as development director, he said.

Council will hold a regular meeting Jan. 13 at 6:30 p.m. at the Natatorium, 2345 Fourth St.

      permalink bookmark