Homepage | Archives | Calendar of Events | Exploring Akron | Death Notices | People & Places | Faith & Worship | Panther Telegram | Get email news alerts | About Us
Real Estate & Home

Architectural Heritage Awards nominees sought

1/16/2014 - West Side Leader
      permalink bookmark

By Staff Writer

WEST AKRON — The Summit County Historical Society (SCHS) and Preservation Alliance of Greater Akron (PAGA) are seeking nominations for eligible projects to be recognized at the 2014 Architectural Heritage Awards program.

The program recognizes exemplary historic preservation examples in Akron and Summit County and individuals who have made a significant, positive impact, officials said.

Structural projects must be located within Summit County and should have been completed according to the Secretary of Interior’s Standards for Historic Preservation. In most categories, projects will be judged based on attention to design, craftsmanship and architecture, as well as materials used. The impact of the projects on the surrounding communities also will be considered.

Nominations will be considered for the following categories:

  • Historic Restoration or Rehabilitation Project — projects in which an existing property, building or landscape was returned to its original character in a sensitive manner that is respectful to the property’s historic past;
  • Adaptive Reuse Project — projects in which an existing historic building, place or landscape was transformed to incorporate both new and old elements in a respectful and sensitive manner;
  • New Addition to a Historic Building — projects in which an addition was made to an existing property, building or landscape in a manner that is respectful to the property’s historic past;
  • Community Education and Advocacy — projects that have made an overall contribution to preservation in Akron or Summit County beyond the physical construction of a building or landscape (this category is meant to recognize organizations that have a preservation-related education and outreach component; projects will be judged based on relevance of the work to current and emerging preservation issues and the impact of this work on neighborhoods and communities);
  • The Recent Past Award — projects that focus on restoration efforts of properties, buildings or landscapes from the second half of the 20th century. This award is designed to promote education and awareness of materials, design techniques and planning principles of the Modern movement and cultural resources of the past 50 years; and
  • Single Family Residential Award — intended to recognize and celebrate the hard work of any individual or team who has made a positive contribution to preserving, restoring or rehabilitating a historic (50 years old or older) single family home anywhere within Summit County.

Homeowners or organizations can submit an application for recognition. Nominations must be received by Feb. 14 at 4 p.m. Awards are based on nomination materials that are reviewed by judges who have backgrounds in historic preservation and architecture. Nomination forms are available from both organizations and are at www.summithistory.org.

Winners will be announced at the Architectural Heritage Awards program May 12 at the Austen BioInnovation Institute in Akron. For details, call SCHS at 330-535-1120.

      permalink bookmark

More Real Estate News

Calendar of Events