Homepage | Archives | Calendar of Events | Exploring Akron | Death Notices | People & Places | Faith & Worship | Panther Telegram | Get email news alerts | About Us
People & Places

Mock Trial awards named for slain New Franklin couple

2/27/2014 - West Side Leader
      permalink bookmark

By Maria Lindsay

DOWNTOWN AKRON — The Akron Bar Association announced Feb. 21 at the Ohio High School Regional Mock Trial Competition’s Award Ceremony held in the Ocasek Building that the top two Mock Trial Regional Competition Awards are now being named in honor of New Franklin attorney Jeff Schobert and his wife, Margaret “Peg” Schobert, who were killed April 2 in their home.

Shawn Ford Jr., 18, is charged with aggravated murder in connection with the case.

The first-place award will be called the Jeff Schobert Award of Excellence, and the second-place award is called the Margaret “Peg” Schobert Award of Excellence. Two award plaques bearing their names will be placed at the Akron Bar Association and will list the names of each year’s winning team.

Jeffrey Schobert worked for Hanna Campbell & Powell LLP in Fairlawn, leading the firm’s health care trial group. He also was a mock trial coach for students at Archbishop Hoban High School.

Shown at right top is the couple’s eldest daughter, Jessica Schobert, reacting with emotion as her parents are honored during the event.

Akron Bar Association Executive Director C. Allen Nichols is pictured at right top middle comforting Schobert at the event.

The awards, which come with a monetary stipend, were presented to the winners at the event.

Several members of the first-place award winners, St. Vincent-St. Mary High School’s Team Gold, are shown at right bottom middle. The team is also shown above and includes, from left: Rollie Shank, Ashley Johenning, Jane Bozsik, Monica Pirie, Bryan Borodkin and AnnMarie Costigan.

The second-place winner was Archbishop Hoban High School’s Team P, with some members shown at right bottom reacting to the placement. The team is also shown below, from left, and includes: Lauren Shoemaker, Irene Hamlin, Matt Deibel, Keith Contrera, Mackenzie Deighen, Libby Stitzel, Becca Hosbach, Chelsea Wein and Colin Fricker.

— By Maria Lindsay

Photos: Lew Stamp

      permalink bookmark

More People & Places

Calendar of Events